Singer, songwriter, producer CHRIS FARREN will release his debut album of classic AOR songs recording in the mid-1980s via reissue label MelodicRock Classics August 13, on Limited Edition 2CD (500 units) and Digital.

CHRIS FARREN - In So Many Words


The Album In So Many Words

01. In So Many Words 4:10
02. Anything For Money 4:11
03. I Remember Her Eyes 3:56
04. If Trees Could Scream 5:21
05. Lightning Strikes 4:48
06. I'll Be Waitin' 5:29
07. When We Get It Right 3:27
08. No Sign Of Life 5:41
09. All Love Is 4:19
10. Evidence Of Love 4:53
11. When I Close My Eyes 4:31
12. We Stand Alone 3:43
13. Dirty Money 4:42
14. Somewhere 5:52

Disc Two The Bonus Tracks

01. What Kind Of Man 4:56
02. Someone, Somebody, Somewhere 4:34
03. Nothing We Can Do 4:28
04. Save Me 4:21
05. Everything To Me 4:37
06. All Or Nothing At All 4:40
07. Same Train 4:44
08. Off The Track 4:00
09. Learn To Love Again 3:22
10. Right Where My Heart Belongs 3:56
11. Tossing Our Hearts Into The Wind 7:10

MelodicRock Classics is thrilled to have the opportunity to work with the acclaimed songwriter CHRIS FARREN for the release of a 2-Disc compilation of his solo demos, all previously unreleased officially.

For MRC002, MRC teams up with the great Swedish AOR A&R legend Magnus Soderqvist for the first of several projects together.

With plans to start the MRC label, owner Andrew McNeice went to his great mate and highly respected A&R guru Magnus Soderqvist in Sweden for help on contacting some of the names on the label's 'hit-list' of possible releases and for his input on any other 'lost' projects that they could work together on bringing to fruition.

One of those names at the top of the list was CHRIS FARREN, an amazing vocalist who seemingly spent a lot of years making other people sound great, without putting out a release under his own name. Magnus tracked Chris down and a discussion began over how we could pay tribute to Chris in the best possible way. The songs of 'In So Many Words' is the result.

In the 90s, an album's worth of Chris' solo work leaked and became heavily traded between fans of classic AOR and Westcoast pop/rock. It was traded under the guise of an unreleased album called 'Signs Of Life'. In reality, no such thing ever existed, and no album was ever planned. Until now.

Chris has worked one on one with Andrew and Magnus to catalogue his favourite solo demos of the 80s, with the 14-track album titled 'In So Many Words'.

So rich were the archives of Chris' songwriting, that it was agreed a second disc of 11 bonus tracks would be added to the package, ensuring that none of everyone's favourite picks were excluded.

The 2-Disc set will be released August 13 and will feature 25 songs given the full remastering treatment from master sources by JK Northrup, with direct input from Chris along the way.
Adding extra value for fans, Chris provides detailed track by track liner notes for the accompanying booklet.


Chris Farren has directly been involved in over 100 #1 hits, in many different genres, and well over 100 million albums sold as a songwriter, artist, producer and publisher. He has been nominated for 4 Grammy awards, an 11- time ASCAP award winning songwriter, and a CMA award winning producer. An artist himself in his early years, Farren moved to LA in 1982 to begin his musical journey. He made his living in those early years singing in clubs and in movies, jingles, background vocals, and producing anything he could, all while working on his solo music.

Drawing upon influences from the singer-songwriter era of the late 70's and combining them with the slicker sound of LA and Ventura Boulevard of the early 80's, Farren created a sound that was uniquely his own. Dozens of movie themes, jingles and record deals later, Farren settled into a career that was more behind the scenes, writing and producing songs for others.

Luckily for us, he left behind a great body of work of quintessential 80's pop tunes he recorded as an artist, many of which you will hear in this release. These tunes were all written, recorded and performed by Farren between 1983 and 1988, and you are hearing them in their original form. Many of the tunes have been recorded by others and many of these tracks feature some young guest artists that have gone on to highly successful careers.

Farren's songs have been recorded by everyone from Greg Allman, Michael McDonald, Air Supply, Rascal Flatts, The Backstreet Boys, Deana Carter, Trace Adkins, 98 degrees, Olivia Newton-John, and many many others. Chris is currently the owner and driving force behind Combustion Music, one of Nashville's most dynamic and successful independent publishing and production companies that recently celebrated their 85th #1 single.

Farren continues to make music to this day, producing and writing hit songs from his office and studio in Nashville. Combustion has amassed an impressive array of awards including, 6 Grammys, 3 ASCAP Song of the Year awards, and a multitude of hit writers including; 7 time ASCAP Country songwriter of the year, Ashley Gorley, 6 time Christian songwriter of the year Matthew West, and platinum rockers The Kings of Leon.

So take a journey back to Southern California circa 1985 and listen to these great songs and performances by Chris Farren.

'In So Many Words' is out via MelodicRock Classics August 13.