MelodicRock Classics is excited to bring the never before released work of A STORY UNFOLDS to light for the first time!

MelodicRock Classics reaches back into the vaults for yet another unreleased project from the past, featuring a veteran musician and a major talent vocalist, who sadly passed away from cancer in 2003.

A Story Unfolds is the moniker given to a previously unreleased project featuring producer/songwriter/musician Don Cromwell (Air Supply, Ransom, Eddie Money) and vocalist Chris Barr. All the tracks were written and recorded between 1986 – 1993, with the album remaining on the shelf until now.

Andrew McNeice: “It is a great privilege to be able to pay tribute to Chris and his vocal talents with this release. While Chris may be a new name to many, Don Cromwell is a seasoned veteran of the rock scene. Magnus Soderqvist introduced me to several songs from Don and Chris, with Don digging deeper to deliver the entire set of songs that made up the various recording sessions for what has become A Story Unfolds.”

With so many songs to choose from, the label was quick to choose its usual route when given the opportunity to do so – offer a special double disc release featuring the tracks decided for the full A Story Unfolds album and adding the rest of the tracks on a bonus disc, so fans can get the complete musical story of the collaboration between Don and Chris.

Originally from the East Bay Area in Northern California, Don spent several years in the Seattle music scene before relocating to Southern California. He became a fixture at the avant-garde label Unicorn Records, writing songs for and performing on many of their diverse releases. From 1983 through 1987, Don toured as the bass player with the renowned pop group Air Supply. While with the band, he worked with top producers in the studio, co-wrote songs on the hit album "Air Supply," and appeared in numerous videos and television performances. Following Air Supply, Don played bass with rock legend Eddie Money, touring and recording with him over the next six years. Don teamed up with long time Eddie guitarist - Tommy Girvin - to form the group Ransom, releasing an album in Europe and Japan in 1997 titled "Trouble in Paradise." Ransom also released a second CD "Better Days" in 2010. He produced Air Supply vocalist Russell Hitchcock's solo CD "Take Time" and won the award for best producer at the 2016 Hollywood Music in Media Awards for his song "Where Do I Belong". Don continues to work with both new and established artists and has a weekly internet radio show / podcast "Don Cromwell LIVE". About CHRIS BARR:
An American singer-songwriter, musician Chris was born and raised in California. As a teen in the late 60's and early 70's he became heavily influenced by the music scenes that were happening in both Los Angeles and San Francisco. That eventually led to forming the band Rock Rose and the self-titled album on Columbia Records produced by the successful duo Lambert and Potter. He later went on to record another self-titled album by the band Small Talk on MCA Records, with some of the original Rock Rose band members.
Chris worked both sides of the desk in the music industry doing A&R at ABC Dunhill Records, sitting in on many sessions with upcoming artists such as Steely Dan, Rufus with newcomer Chaka Kahn, 4 Tops, Steven Bishop, Blood, Sweat and Tears, 3 Dog Night just to name a few. He began his collaboration with Don Cromwell and A Story Unfolds was born. The marriage between the two artists and the process in which they worked gave way to a catalogue of music that holds up today.
In later years Chris composed for movies and tv. Prior to his death in 2003, and going back to his roots, Chris was on the verge of developing a boutique record label where undiscovered artists could have easy access to getting their projects heard.

A STORY UNFOLDS will be released by MelodicRock Classics June 24, with pre-order and instant digital delivery available later this month. Audio preview soon!

Disc 1 - “The Album”
01. Real Things
02. Nowhere Town
03. Two Times
04. Just In Time
05. Back To Her Old Self Again
06. Man In The Middle
07. So Special
08. Like Lovers Do
09. One In A Million
10. One Way Or Another
11. Small World
12. Someone Like You
13. Cool Lies
14. Crazy Tonight

Disc 2 - “The Bonus Tracks”
01. That Ain't Living
02. Not A Pretty Sight
03. Isn't It About Time
04. We Stand
05. You Should've Lied
06. Time Stands Still
07. Remember Me
08. Playing To Win
09. Second Time Around
10. A Fine Love